Rennet sentence example

rennet
  • Another enzyme, rennet, which in the animal body is proteolytic, is frequently met with in plants, but its function has not been ascertained.
    1
    0
  • By the rennet ferment caseinogen is converted into casein, a substance resembling caseinogen in being soluble in water, but differing in having an insoluble calcium salt.
    1
    0
  • Thus the digestive function, in its largest sense, is now seen to consist, not only in preparation and supply, but in no small measure also of protective and antidotal conversions of the matters submitted to it; coincidently with agents of digestion proper are found in the circuit of normal digestion "anti-substances" which neutralize or convert peptones in their poisonous phases; an autochthonous ferment, such as rennet for instance, calling forth an anti-rennet, and so on.
    1
    0
  • The popular crisp variety is currently made using animal rennet.
    1
    0
  • More specifically, they digest the sugars in the milk and produce lactic acid, which makes the milk curdle and solidify, just like animal rennet does.
    1
    0
    Advertisement
  • The words vegetable enzymes are a guarantee that the rennet is vegan, but enzymes is generic enough term that it can refer to both animal and vegan sources.
    1
    0
  • These Regulations prescribe reserved descriptions, composition and manufacturing characteristics for edible acid casein, edible rennet casein and edible caseinates.
    0
    0
  • Double check that vegetarian rennet, not animal rennet, is being used.
    0
    0
  • Yes, all our cheeses are made with non-animal vegetable rennet.
    0
    0
  • All our cheese is made with vegetable rennet, making it suitable for vegetarians.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • This is more reliable in its action and cheaper than calf rennet and the cheese produced in this way can be eaten by vegetarians.
    0
    0
  • Yes, if a product is marked with our V symbol, we use only cheese with non animal rennet.
    0
    0
  • Making cheeses using rennet enzymes which break down casein (milk protein) and cause the separation of the curds from the whey.
    0
    0
  • It is an acid set cheese, not a rennet set cheese, as well as being a DTP program.
    0
    0
  • Devon Blue is made using unpasteurised milk using vegetarian rennet.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • While vegetarians who made the lifestyle choice because of animal cruelty try their best to avoid cheese rennet, vegan individuals usually avoid cheese altogether, since it is made with dairy products.
    0
    0
  • However, with today's vegan specialty products they'll be happy to know there are cheese rennet vegan options.
    0
    0
  • Rennet is an enzyme used to coagulate cheese, helping it make the transformation from liquid milk form to a solid.
    0
    0
  • Traditionally rennet is extracted from the stomach lining of butchered veal calves.
    0
    0
  • The calves have the rennet in their stomachs to help digest milk from their mothers.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • Animal rennet is one of the most common ingredients in mass produced cheese, which can make it quite a hurdle for those looking to only eat cheese with vegan rennet.
    0
    0
  • Cheeses that use animal rennet will usually have rennet or rennin listed on the ingredients label.
    0
    0
  • There are two alternatives to animal rennet that can make cheese rennet vegan.
    0
    0
  • There is vegetable rennet, which is made from enzymes found in safflower, melon, fig leaves or thistles, and there is microbial rennet, which is made from mold cultures or bacteria or are created artificially in a lab.
    0
    0
  • All types of vegan rennet are usually listed on product labels as either enzymes or vegetable enzymes, without any further detail.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • Some companies will use the term vegetable rennet, although it is not that common.
    0
    0
  • It's interesting to note that vegan rennet is not rennet at all, since the word rennet refers to an animal's stomach lining.
    0
    0
  • The whole rennet issue is more of a problem for lacto ovo vegetarians, who don't eat meat but consume eggs and dairy, than it is for vegans.
    0
    0
  • Milk and rennet are both animal-based products, but they also have vegetarian and vegan alternatives.
    0
    0
  • Milk is enjoyed by many vegetarians, while rennet is a little bit more controversial.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • Milk and rennet are two completely different products, but there is a relationship between the two.
    0
    0
  • Cheese is made by adding the active enzymes from rennet to milk, causing the liquid to curdle and separate.
    0
    0
  • Rennet is derived from the stomachs of freshly slaughtered calves, although it can be genetically created in a lab or found in plant-based forms.
    0
    0
  • Sometimes rennet is derived from other animals, such as goats, sheep, and even pigs.
    0
    0
  • While rennet is certainly not meat, many vegetarians will still avoid any cheese made with the product.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • Cheese becomes an ethical dilemma for most vegetarians, due to the technicalities presented in the cultivation of rennet.
    0
    0
  • Fortunately, there are alternatives for both rennet and milk that vegetarians and vegans alike can enjoy.
    0
    0
  • There are many vegetarian and vegan cheeses on the market that do not contain rennet.
    0
    0
  • Unfortunately, manufacturers are not required to name the source of their rennet on the package labels, so it's safest to find a cheese that is certified safe for vegetarians or vegans.
    0
    0
  • For vegetarians, soft cheeses like cream cheese and quark do not contain any rennet at all.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • Vegans avoid both milk and any product that contains rennet, while vegetarians can enjoy milk if it coincides with their diet plans.
    0
    0
  • Are There Any Cheeses that Do Not Contain Rennet?
    0
    0
  • Some also choose to avoid foods with animal byproducts in them, such as gelatin and rennet.
    0
    0
  • Rennet comes from the stomachs of newly born calves.
    0
    0
  • The have a convenient section of vegetarian cheeses; those made without animal based rennet.
    0
    0
    Advertisement
  • The sheep's milk was stored in bags made from the stomach, which contained rennet that turned the milk into curds and whey.
    0
    0
  • Depending on the kind of cheese you are making, rennet is also added to enhance the coagulation.
    0
    0
  • Brie makers add rennet to raw milk and then heat it to 98.6 degrees.
    0
    0