The grammar school was founded in 1614; it occupies modern buildings, but the original house remains, a picturesque half-timbered building, raised upon pillars of wood.
There are many fine half-timbered houses of the 17th century, and one of seven old town-gates remains.
The picturesque half-timbered style of domestic building is frequently seen in the streets.
The former abbot's house at Seyney Park is a half-timbered building of the 15th century.
There remain several picturesque half-timbered houses, dating from 1572 and later.
A few half-timbered houses of the 17th century remain in the streets.
In the centre of the town is a picturesque half-timbered market cross (16x6), with an octagonal upper chamber raised on massive pillars of wood.
At a short distance from the town is a moated Elizabethan half-timbered house, and also an ancient barrow of great extent.
There is a picturesque half-timbered guildhall (1589).
Other buildings of interest are the guildhall, a 15th-century structure of brick; Shodfriars Hall, a half-timbered house adjacent to slight remains of a Dominican priory; the free grammar school, founded in 1554, with a fine gateway of wrought iron of the 17th century brought from St Botolph's church; and the Hussey Tower of brick, part of a mansion of the 16th century.