Gelatin sentence example
Typical albuminoids are gelatin, keratin, elastin, fibroin, spongin and conchiolin.
A number of oral products contain gelatin from UK cattle.
Others contain bovine or porcine gelatin, which is likely to be unacceptable to strict vegetarians.
Each print is a toned silver gelatin print from a paper negative approx.
The figure below shows the experimental set-up used for the detection of photothermal responses of gelatin tissue phantoms.Advertisement
The Committee also noted that all UK gelatin manufactured for these purposes from bovine raw material utilized only imported ingredients.
This could be tiny plastic beads or a gelatin sponge.
He introduced bacteria into liquid sterile nutrient gelatin.
Glycerin acts as a preservative against decomposition, owing to its antiseptic qualities, which also led to its being employed to preserve untanned leather (especially during transit when exported, the hides being, moreover, kept soft and supple); to make solutions of gelatin, albumen, gum, paste, cements, &c. which will keep without decomposition; to preserve meat and other edibles; to mount anatomical preparations; to preserve vaccine lymph unchanged; and for many similar purposes.
In modern practice degreased bones (see Gelatin), or bone-ash which has lost its virtue as a filtering medium, &c., or a mineral phosphate is treated with sufficient sulphuric acid to precipitate all the calcium, the calcium sulphate filtered off, and the filtrate concentrated, mixed with charcoal, coke or sawdust and dried in a muffle furnace.Advertisement
Capsule- concentrated dried herbs in a gelatin capsule to be taken by mouth.
Non-medicinal ingredients include gelatin, glycerin and purified water.
Place the cool water into a small saucepan and sprinkle the gelatin over the water.
Let the gelatin soak in the water for at least five minutes.
Then place the saucepan over a low flame and stir until the gelatin has completely dissolved and the water has warmed.Advertisement
Place the dough hook attachment on your stand mixer and pour the gelatin mixture into the bowl of your mixer.
Using the lowest speed setting, slowly add the sugar mixture to the gelatin.
Marshmallows, Jell-o and some yogurts and desserts contain gelatin, made from animal bones.
Some also choose to avoid foods with animal byproducts in them, such as gelatin and rennet.
Thickeners, like arrowroot powder or cornstarch, are substitutes for recipes calling for gelatin.Advertisement
Other fondant recipe ingredients may include gelatin, shortening, or vanilla extract.
Rolled fondant's additional ingredients are gelatin, corn syrup (glucose), and glycerin.
Pour the water into a small pan and sprinkle gelatin on top to soften.
Stir over low heat until the gelatin is dissolved and clear.
Combine the gelatin and water in a small saucepan.Advertisement
Place the pan on the stove over low heat, and whisk the mixture until the gelatin has dissolved.
Keeping the speed of the beaters constant, add the gelatin mixture.
For example, some are made from gelatin which does not comply with a vegetarian diet.
Place the orange and lemon juice in a small pot and sprinkle the gelatin on top of it.
Gently heat the orange juice and gelatin mixture on low until all the gelatin is dissolved into the liquid.Advertisement
Bland fluids such as apple juice, liquid flavored gelatin, or lukewarm broth are easiest to drink.
When vomiting episodes stop, the child may feel better after eating easy-to-digest and bland foods such as clear liquids, crackers, gelatin, and plain toast.
They are allergic to gelatin or the antibiotic neomycin.
Gelatin water may be substituted for electrolyte-replacement solutions if an ORS is unavailable.
Receiving the right amount of electrolytes is very important, and thus homemade remedies such as gelatin (or adding salt or sugar to water) are not recommended because of the potential for quantity errors when mixing.Advertisement
In keeping with the creativity of this style, it's rumored that punk enthusiasts have relied on products such as peanut butter, gelatin, and even molasses to create hold and height.
When cooking, make alphabet shaped cookies for dessert or gelatin molds in the shape of letters.
Align probiotic capsules are made with plant-based ingredients instead of gelatin.
Gelatin, a by product of the slaughterhouse industry, is often used to make gel capsules.
Vegetarians, vegans and those eating kosher and other religious diets do not take products containing gelatin.Advertisement
Treatment consists of avoiding phenylalanine supplements, diet products containing aspartame (which also contain phenylalanine), and phenylalanine-rich foods such as cocoa powder, gelatin, and many meat, dairy and higher protein foods.
Other ingredients include potato starch, gelatin, and silicon dioxide.
Separately combine the syrup, Splenda and gelatin; add one cup of boiling water.
Vegans abstain from eating or using any products derived from animals, including use of meat, leather, glue, eggs, dairy products, honey and gelatin.
On the other hand, vegans eschew all animal products, including gelatin, which is produced from a substance found in animal bones.Advertisement
A typical day might be an omelet and bacon for breakfast, a large salad with grilled shrimp for lunch, and a steak with vegetables and sugar-free gelatin for dessert.
On the plus side, a higher fat content means that you will not find gelatin or other artificial stabilizers in their products.
People are there for football scores and friendly banter, not to compliment you on your gorgeous helmet-shaped gelatin mold.
Consider preparing this Fourth of July Jello recipe that features raspberry gelatin, blueberries and cream cheese.
Put a holiday spin on your side dishes by serving red, white and blue potato salad, multi-colored gelatin shapes, and a bowl of mixed blueberries and strawberries.Advertisement
Some recipes call for gelatin, but as this is a non-vegetarian, non-Kosher ingredient, it's good to avoid when making in mass quantities.
Eating gelatin and taking calcium are folk remedies for this condition.
To effect this some of the nutrient gelatin containing yeast cells is placed on the under-surface of the cover-glass of the moist chamber.
Gelatin occurs also in the cornea and the sclerotic coat of the eye; and in fish scales, the latter containing 80% of collagen, and 20% of ichthylepidin, a substance differing from gelatin in giving a wellmarked Millon's reaction.
Fibroin is insoluble in water, acids and alkalies; silk-glue resembles gelatin in its solubility, but it is less readily gelatinized.
The plaits are sewed partly by hand and in a special sewing-machine, and the hats or bonnets are finished by stiffening with gelatin size and blocking into shape with the aid of heat and powerful pressure, according to the dictates of fashion.
The fruits of Zizyphus do not enter into the composition of the lozenges now known as jujubes which are usually made of gum-arabic, gelatin, &c., and variously flavoured.
For this purpose isinglass, gelatin or, in the case of high-class red wines, white of egg is employed.
The tannin of coffee, C3,H,80,6, found in coffee beans, is not precipitated from its solutions by gelatin.
It is incompatible with mineral acids, alkalis, salts of iron, antimony, lead and silver, alkaloids and gelatin.
Unlike tannic acid, gallic acid does not precipitate albumen or salts of the alkaloids, or, except when mixed with gum, gelatin.
Gelatin is basically a processed version of the protein collagen.
Dry collodion negatives, introduced later, were made by covering the collodion negatives, introduced later, were made by covering the collodion with a layer of albumen or gelatin.
They were able to use gelatin to create fake fingerprints from photographs of latent fingerprints left on glass.
Stir in the cooled berries and whipped cream, then slowly pour in the dissolved gelatin, in a continuous stream, stirring constantly.
The flesh was removed with a double-edged two-handled knife and this could be processed to make gelatin and glue.
Hansen pointed out that this was by no means the case, for it is more difficult to separate the cells from each other in the gelatin than in the liquid.
To obtain an absolutely pure culture with certainty it is necessary, even when the gelatin method is employed, to start from a single cell.
Gelatin forms a white amorphous powder; the commercial product, however, generally forms glassy plates.
Immersed in cold water gelatin does not dissolve but swells up; it dissolves readily in hot water, forming, according to the quantity present, a thick jelly which solidifies to a hard mass on cooling (the " glue " of the woodworker), or a thin jelly (used in cookery).
In general they resemble coagulated albumin, and also the gelatin-yielding tissues, but they themselves do not yield gelatin.
They yield chitin in place of chondrin or gelatin - as does also the cartilage of the Cephalopod's endoskeleton.
One class, represented by gelatin, will redissolve on warming or diluting, while the other class, containing such substances as silica, albumen, and metallic, hydrosulphides, will solidify on heating or on the addition of electrolytes to form a solid "gel" which cannot be redissolved.
Sugars, Starches, Gums, Gelatin, &c. - Although these and allied bodies are used in various ways as remedies, their action is for the most part purely mechanical or dietetic.